About the Little Museum


The Little Museum tells the remarkable story of Dublin in the 20th Century. The museum was launched in 2011 with a public appeal for historic objects. The response to that appeal illustrates the generosity of the Irish people: today there are over 5,000 artefacts in the collection.

Named as “Dublin’s best museum experience” by the Irish Times, the Little Museum has been nominated for the European Museum of the Year Awards and has just been granted full charitable status. Children attend free civics classes here every morning, and our greeter programme, City of a Thousand Welcomes, has been described by the Sydney Morning Herald as “the best free thing to do in Europe.”

Our goal is not to sell an ideology but simply to remember the past. If you like the sound of what we’re doing, please visit the museum today. 

Simon O’Connor



Director Trevor White  |  e: trevor (at) littlemuseum.ie

Curator Simon O’Connor  |  e: simon (at) littlemuseum.ie

Director of Development Sarah Costigan  |  e: sarah (at) littlemuseum.ie 

Press Jill Guest  |  e: press (at) littlemuseum.ie


The Little Museum of Dublin is a registered charity (Number 19825) governed by an unpaid board of directors.

The Lord Mayor of Dublin
Ed Brophy
Colleen Dube
Joan Fitzpatrick
Councillor Mary Freehill (ex-officio: Dublin City Council)
Brian P Geraghty
Emily Hourican
Dr Rhona Mahony
Ethna Murphy (ex-officio: Fáilte Ireland)
Declan Wallace (ex-officio: Dublin City Council)
Brody Sweeney


Advisory Panel

Ivana Bacik
Eoin Bailey
Arabella Bishop
Nicola Gordon Bowe
Scott Calhoun
Benedict Schlepper Connolly
Louise East
Gerry Godley
Lisa Godson
Winter Hynes
Róisín Ingle
Pat Liddy
Ciarán MacGonigal
Aoife McLysaght
Chandana Mathur
Christine Monk
Peter Murray
Robert O’Byrne
Peter Pearson
Pat Wallace
Geraldine Walsh